How to Turn On Encryption In Facebook Messenger

End-to-end encryption means that your conversations are encrypted from one device to another so the conversation can’t be accessed by anyone other than the sender and the intended receiver. Facebook’s new encryption, appropriately, is called Secret Conversation.

The approach is very unlike what Facebook-owned WhatsApp is doing. The popular messaging platform automatically encrypts messages for all users if they have an encryption-compatible version of WhatsApp on their phone.

If you want to start a new encrypted conversation:

  1. Tap the new conversation icon at the top right.
  2. Tap “Secret” in the top right.
  3. Choose your recipient and begin messaging.

If you want to turn an ongoing conversation into an encrypted Secret Conversation:

  1. Open the message thread.
  2. Tap their name at the top of your screen.
  3. Tap “Secret Conversation” to switch it over.

If you don’t see those options, it could mean the recipient doesn’t have the current version of Facebook Messenger. They’ll need to update their app for Secret Conversations to work. Also, Secret Conversations don’t allow the sending of GIFs and videos, but you can still share picture and use stickers. And it’s important to note that you can only access your Secret Conversations from the device it was enabled on. So if you start an encrypted conversation on your phone, that’s the only place you can send and receive encrypted messages for that particular conversation

Set a timer…

You can make your messages even more secure with the use of Secret Conversation’s timer option. Tap the clock icon in the text box and choose how long you would like your message to last. Your choices range from one day to five seconds. When the time runs out the messages delete themselves and disappear.

…Or delete Secret Conversations

If you don’t want to set a timer, you can manually delete the conversation. Plus, there’s no way to turn off Secret Conversations. The only option is to delete your conversation thread and start an new one without turning on the encryption option.

To delete a Secret Conversation:

  1. Tap the person’s icon
  2. Tap Secret Conversations
  3. Tap Delete Secret Conversations
  4. Tap Delete All

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of
avatar
wpDiscuz